Volatile starter Zambrano wants to stay with Cubs

CHICAGO, IL - JUNE 20:  Starting pitcher Carlo...
Image by Getty Images via @daylife

CHICAGO (AP) — Embattled Cubs pitcher Carlos Zambrano says he’d like to pitch again for Chicago and was simply frustrated when he told club personnel he wanted to retire after his most recent start.

In his first public comments since the team banished him following another meltdown, Zambrano told Comcast SportsNet Chicago in a phone interview Monday that he wants to remain a Cub.

“Of course, man” Zambrano said. “Hey, the Cubs have been to me like family. The organization is my family. I’ve seen people go and people come and I’m still there. … I want to keep pitching for the Cubs. It was a moment of frustration Friday night, and I pitched so bad I wanted to retire, you know, I don’t want to be making $18 million and pitch like crap.”

via News from The Associated Press.

Enhanced by Zemanta
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

