MLB’s top offensive players earn Silver Slugger awards

The postseason honor roll expanded Wednesday, when the American League and National League distributed the Silver Slugger Award to the best offensive players at each position. Nine players received the award for the first time, and only six players were repeat winners from last year.

The Silver Slugger, which was first awarded in 1980, is voted on by coaches and managers from both leagues, and voters are prohibited from rewarding players on their own team. There were only five repeat winners last season, which was tied for the low in the history of the award.

Both leagues had three players qualify as a repeat winner this year, and two players continued streaks that saw them win the Silver Slugger for the fourth straight season. Two players — one from each league — have won the Silver Slugger at their respective position five times.

via MLB’s top offensive players earn Silver Slugger awards | News.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: