Self wins Naismith Coach of the Year –

NEW ORLEANS — Kansas head coach Bill Self was named the�2012 Naismith Men’s College Basketball Coach of the Year, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced on�Sunday. This accolade makes Kansas the only university to have three different Naismith Men’s�College Coach of the Year winners, as Self joins 1988 winner Larry Brown and 1997 winner Roy�Williams. Self edged out finalists Jim Boeheim (Syracuse), John Calipari (Kentucky) and Frank�Haith (Missouri) to win the most prestigious national award presented annually to the top men’s�college basketball coach.

Self was selected by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s National Voting Academy, comprised of leading�basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The academy�based its criteria on coaching performances this season. The vote was tabulated and certified�by the accounting firm of Habif, Arogeti & Wynne, LLP. HA&W is the largest independent�accounting firm in Georgia and one of the top 50 firms in the United States.�

“Bill has done a remarkable coaching job this season and deserves all the accolades that come�his way,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “There’s always�something special about adding another chapter of Kansas basketball to the Naismith Awards�family.”

via Self wins Naismith Coach of the Year –


  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: